There’s a Hunger Inside Me…And a Walgreen’s Hand Basket in My Car

I turn into Joe Pesci and don't know what I'm doing when I'm hungry.

As I listen to one of my favorite movies playing from YouTube in the background, I write this post. With that, let me tell you about my evening browsing the aisles of my local Walgreen’s.

They Walk. They Talk. They Kill.

Every now and again I get this wave of ferocious hunger that comes over me; profuse sweating, weakness, overheating, shaking, irritability, and no self control when it comes to food items that have not yet been paid for. Last night, it happened. When these waves of emotions start to come over me, I head to the aisle that never lets me down; the candy aisle. With my hand basket on my arm, I was feeling confident that my selection would satiate my craving. Things that wouldn’t normally end up in my basket did. For instance, Peeps. Peeps? I HATE Peeps, but hell, they look good enough to maul once I reach the safety of my car. And cake batter flavored?! Forget it!

“Chocolate covered cherries?! YEAH!” In the basket they go.

“Blueberry licorice?! YEAH!” In the basket it goes.

Among other various snacks and confections, my wave of the Joe Pesci’s was becoming overwhelming. I decided that I must head to checkout. While waiting for the woman in front of me, the need came over me to unzip the top of my licorice and start gorging right there. Catching the side-eye of the cashier, I snuck one more piece and resealed the bag. I piled my items on the counter and watched as the line behind me started to grow.

“Well, you can tell I’m hungry,” I snickered, trying to make light of my situation. The cashier wasn’t amused.

I paid and hurriedly grabbed my treats. I clamored into my car, but not before realizing that something crashed against my car and I couldn’t get my arm in. Ugh. The hand basket. Too hungry and too weak, I just threw it in my car. Now I’m stuck with a hand basket in my car and the need for an extra trip today to return said basket.

With that, I give you the recipe for a much more successful evening than I had…

Crockpot Tom Yum Soup

  • 2 tbsps red curry paste
  • 2 12 ounce cans of coconut milk
  • 2 cups chicken stock
  • 2 tbsps fish sauce
  • 2 tbsps brown sugar
  • 2 tbsps peanut butter
  • 1½ pounds chicken breasts, cut into 1½ inch pieces
  • 1 red bell pepper, seeded and sliced into ¼ inch slices
  • 1 onion, thinly sliced
  • 2 heaping tbsps fresh ginger, minced
  • 4 limes
  • 1 package of lettuce wrap powder mix
  • 6 tbsps of white vinegar
  • 1 bunch of cilantro, coursely chopped
  • 1/4 cup plus 2 tbsps lime ponzu
  • 1 container of sliced button mushrooms
  • ½ cup of water

Roughly 1-2 hours before you pile your delicious ingredients into your crockpot, take your sliced chicken breast and throw it into a giant baggie to marinate.

Chicken Marinade

In large baggie, throw your chicken into the baggie with 1 tablespoon of ginger, your package of lettuce wrap mix, 4 tablespoons of vinegar, quarter cup of ponzu, the juice of two limes, and half a cup of water. Let sit for 1-2 hours.

Yumtown, USA Soup

In your crockpot, throw the remaining ingredients minus some cilantro for a fabulous garnish. While those babies are in there melding together, take your chicken out and heat up a pan using a tablespoon of olive oil or cooking spray. Throw the chicken in the pan and let it brown, pretty much cooking all the way through. Once cooked, add it to your crockpot and leave it alone for 3 hours.

3 hours later, remove the lid and gorge. It’s delicious.

2 Comments

Leave a Reply

